Socks

I don’t know why, but I’ve been procrastinating over posting lately. I think it’s just cause I love blog posts with pictures, and I didn’t have anything photographed. In any case, here I go.

Lately I’ve been working on socks and more socks. I have two different pairs going right now, and have turned this:Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

into this:Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

That is Opal Handpainted sock yarn that I found in a local knitting store. It turned into a ginormous yarn cake of which I still have about a thousand yards of. Actually, it says its 420 yards, but it seems so huge. This sock didn’t even make a dent in it. I have a feeling I’m going to have a lot left over after I finish the second sock. BTW, the sock is the Monkey Sock from Knitty. To me they look like snake socks instead of Monkey socks, so that’s what I call them.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
My second pair is the simple sock pattern I’ve been working on. I started the second sock last night. These fit perfectly and I’m very happy with them. I’ve figured out that I must knit very loosely with sock yarn, because I can never use the needles suggested in the pattern. I always have to go down a size or two. If the yarn’s a little thicker, though, I’m spot on.

Next, we’ll take a look at some lace. Whenever it looks like more than just striny stuff on a cable needle.

Leave a Reply

