I’m Back!

socks1.jpg
I’ve been out of town for the last two weeks for work. I have learned in that time that I am truly of the internet generation. It was pretty boring without my daily blog reads. I did manage to get some knitting done in the hotel, though. I started and finished a sock with my very first purchase of Socks that Rock. It was definitely worth the time. I’ve been hearing such great things about this yarn on various sites, Lime and Violet’s podcast, etc that I figured I should give it a try. The sock on the left is in their Nodding Violet colorway. I cannot count the number of times that my co-workers commented on how pretty it was or how they wanted to learn to knit socks when they saw this one. I’m glad I was able to join their sock club for the year. This means no more sock yarn purcases for me. On the right is a sock knit in Regia 4-ply Nordic Color #5521. I don’t know if it has a real name or not. The thing I like about the STR is that I can use 2.5mm needles with it. I can’t do that with thinner yarn, b/c I find the socks too loose for my very sensitive feet. They don’t like any hint of bumpiness, and anything above 2mm with thinner yarn is a no-go. Both sock patterns are from Sensational Knitted Socks. I swear, that book is invaluable to me just for the techniques. I did vary the second one a bit, as I didn’t feel like counting so much. It’s basically a 2×2 rib with a purl row thrown in every so often. The other is her chevron pattern.

Now I just have to make the second sock for each. I should, hopefully, have at least one complete pair by the end of the week.

Ta.

Leave a comment