Socks, Socks, and more

lacewt-yarn.jpg

I have absolutely loved Seraphim by Miriam Felton (creator of Icarus) since I first started contemplating lace. I haven’t worked on it because I could never decide on which yarn to use. Finally I broke down and cast on this weekend. I’ve tried three different yarns in that time. Something from Handpaintedyarn.com which is really pretty but I think it needed to be doubled, in a gorgeous yellow. Not right.

Then I tried some cashmere/silk that I got from Colourmart. That one is a great ice blue color, but I’m still struggling with the thinness of laceweight, never mind throwing a cone into the mix. I haven’t made it to the stage of working with cones yet.

seraphim-start.jpg
I finally settled on the Knitpicks Bare that I dyed a raspberry color awhile back. I love how the variegation works well with the stockinette body of the shawl. I think it will be pretty when all is said and done, and I can wear it with jeans this summer. I haven’t decided whether I want to add some beads to it also, but I’m contemplating it.

hssone.jpg
And, of course, the Hogwarts Sock swap. I’m feeling good about this one. One sock is halfway done. The stitch markers are in the mail. The knitting needles are likewise. I can’t wait to put everything together and send it off.

cthcabin-fever.jpg
I’ve also got some simple stockinette socks going for my internet blog surfing time. I can work on these because I don’t have to look to knit (purling is a whole other thing). These are coming out great. I still haven’t figured out if I’ll keep them or if they’re somebody’s Xmas gift. We’ll see. In any case, they’ll count towards my 52 pair count.

I’ve been meaning to update my blogroll for awhile now. That list definitely does not have all of the blogs I read on a daily basis listed. Stay tuned for an update on that front sometime this week.

One thought on “Socks, Socks, and more

Leave a Reply

