New Projects, Old Projects

This week has been really crazy for me. Work has been busy, and stressful. I’ve also got some plans in the works that require me to focus on my forward development. Which means, I wanna get out of this field and do more management. So, I’ve been trying to get my resume together, etc. Hopefully, everything should be done by the end of the month.

Knitting
I am happy to report that my mom loved her gift. In case you didn’t recognize it, it is a Swallowtail Shawl, found in the Fall 2006 issue of Interweave Knits. I replaced the nupps in the pattern with beads, and it added some weight to the shawl that helps it to stay on well.
purpleswallowtail.jpg
It’s made with an Eggplant colored Baby Silk from Elann. I absolutely love this yarn. It only took about 4 balls to make this shawl, which means I still have six balls left. I can’t wait to make something for myself from this stuff. It’s incredibly soft, but very warm. I can’t say enough good things about it.

I’ve also managed to finish a pair of baby socks for a friend’s son. I had some of the Regia left from a previous pair of socks, so I made him some cute yellow ones. I know she’ll appreciate them, as she was just lamenting the fact that she didn’t have enough pairs the last time I saw her. Aren’t they cute? And these babies count toward the 52PP.
babysocks1.jpg

Tips and Tricks

I’ve been listening to some new podcasts lately. There’s Socks in the City and Pixie Purls just to name a few. They can both be found on iTunes if you search knitting. Anyway, if you go to Pixie Purls you will find a great link to a tutorial on how you can store your knitting patterns on your iPod for viewing (if you have the one that shows videos, pics, etc). I tried it and it works well. Of course, at this point I have my most recent knitting pattern pretty well memorized.

Leave a Reply

