Sock Club Day!

Today was Sock Club Delivery Day here at Chez Strawberry Chocolate.

I got in the mail my shipments from both the Socks That Rock Club and the Yarn Pirate Booty Club. Two very different but equally wonderful yarns arrived, along with some additional welcome goodies from Yarn Pirate.

First, Lenore. This yarn from BMFA is a sample of their Raven Series which goes on sale November 5th. Ooh, is it pretty. I love the dark, rich colors found in this yarn. Unfortunately for me, I’m going on a yarn diet (with one exception which I won’t be paying for). Otherwise, look out! I’d be shopping for more of these wonderful colorways. And have you been reading Knitspot? She is also discussing these colors and her process in designing a shawl for the BMFA series. Very interesting. Anyway, here it is:

STR Lenore

Beautiful, isn’t it. The sock pattern is by the Yarn Harlot herself, Stephanie Pearl-McPhee. I’m not sure if I’ll use the given pattern, but I’m definitely casting on with this yarn in the coming month. I just need to finish some other projects first.

Second, the Yarn Pirate Booty Club. I signed up for this as soon as possible when it opened back up in September. I’ve never used any of Georgia’s yarns, but they are beautiful. This one is Killer Bees, a very cool yarn in very nice colors. I haven’t decided what pattern to make. I’m thinking of something from More Sensational Knitted Socks. We’ll see. My plan is to make a project with these sock club yarns as soon as they arrive, so they don’t languish in the stash for too long.

DSC_0009

In addition to the yarn, I got a very nice welcome gift, in the form of some Uber-Pointy Circular Needles for Magic Looping. They are in 2.25mm and 2.75mm sizes, at 24 inches each (I’m pretty sure I mentioned that I don’t do US sizings on needles, too confusing). These needles look like they might be just the thing for me to use with the Shetland Shawl patterns I am attempting in the coming months. I’ve ordered a sample pack of yarn from Heirloom Knitting, and I plan to try these needles out when it arrives. Check them out.

YP Circular Needles

Next post, Shetland Shawl experiments.

One thought on “Sock Club Day!

  1. I’m almost to the heel flap on “Lenore” – I love the pattern – easy and fun and perfect for this yarn. I’ll be interested to see what you make with it!

Leave a Reply

