So, Shetland Lace

I’ve been contemplating a Shetland lace project for quite some time. The thing that always stopped me in the past is the fineness of the yarn( thread, really) that is used to create these masterpieces. That, and the pattern every row thing. I always got the inpression from blog posts I read that this was a very advanced lace skill, and that one needs to be more experienced before attempting it.

Now, I will admit that I’m basically fearless when it comes to taking on a new project. It’s only knitting, after all, and it’s my time that I spend on it. There’s no one I have to please with my projects. For the most part, people don’t even know I’m making them something when I’m working on it. Everything is for me, unless otherwise indicated. That way, nobody’s disappointed when it takes me forever to get something done. Because that’s the other thing. If I don’t like it, I’m completely happy to rip that sucker out and start all over, or scrap it completely. This kind of makes it hard for me to put my WIPs in Ravelry because inevitably they go from WIPs to UFOs to Frogged in a matter of months.

unst lace scarf

Enter Heirloom Knitting by Sharon Miller. I found this book in a booth at Stitches East. I was always interested in getting it, but the price kind of put me off. I wasn’t very interested in spending that much on something I couldn’t see first, no matter how much others raved about it. I did peruse it there in the booth and happily forked over my $55 after checking it out. I’ve throughly enjoyed reading the book and have picked out a long-term project to practice my knitted lace skills on. It is the Unst Lace Stole found in the Patterns section. I plan to work on this project on the weekends, and Tangled Yoke on the weekdays. It requires my full concentration, but I’m enjoying it. I’m using some Ornaghi Filati Merino Oro in Dusty Pink, and so far so good. Hopefully by the time I finish this (months from now) I will be ready for the Princess Shawl, which is on it’s way to me from the Heirloom Knitting website as we speak.

3 thoughts on “So, Shetland Lace

  1. I like the idea of one big project for the weekend and one for the weekdays – excellent plan. I’m guessing you’ll finish your Tangled Yoke before me.
    WOW – I just went to Ravelry to look at that lace stole – it is GORGEOUS!! I will enjoy watching yours grow!

  2. Welcome to the wonderful world of Shetland lace. The Unst shawl is in my queue, and I think it’s gorgeous. One thing you’ll notice about Shetland lace is that the patterns are very geometric and intuitive, so it’s not really “hard”. You have to pay attention (or at least I do!), but I’ve found that even with patterning on every row, it’s not as difficult as some people seem to think. And the results, OH MY! I can’t wait to see yours!

Leave a Reply

