No More Humdrum Mittens Exchange Questionnaire

How long have you been knitting & how did you learn? I taught myself to knit in the ’90s, but I just got back into it in the last year and a half.

Would you consider your skill level to be beginner, intermediate or advanced? I’d consider myself intermediate. I’m learning all the time.

What are your favorite colors? Any you dislike? I love pink, red, green, blue, gold, white, black, purple, and did I say red?

Do you like Latvian type patterns? If so, what are your favorite patterns? I do like any colorwork patterns. Latvian mittens are beautiful, but I have no specific favorite.

Do you desire mittens for yourself, your “special someone else” or your child? I’d like these mittens for me.

What is the measurement from your wrist to the tip of your longest finger? 7″

What is the circumference of your hand at it’s widest point? 8″

What other things do you enjoy knitting? Lace and socks are my go-to projects.

What sort of needles do you enjoy working with? (straights vs circs, bamboo vs aluminum) For stranded knitting I’m finding that I prefer bamboo or wooden needles. I primarily work with circs for larger projects and DPNs for smaller circular projects. I don’t use straights much at all.

What’s one project you’ve not yet tried but are dying to make? I want to try making a Fair Isle Sweater. That is a long-term commitment I haven’t gotten up the nerve to do. I plan on designing it myself.

What’s one yarn you’ve not yet tried but are dying to work with? I’d like to try some of the Shetland yarns like Harrisville or Jamieson’s.

What other hobbies do you have? Do you spin? Sew? Garden? Cook? I love to take photographs, and am learning to use my new dSLR. I also quilt and scrapbook when I can find the time. And of course, I’m learning to spin with a drop spindle until I can afford the wheel I want.

Besides yarn, do you collect anything? Does fabric count?

What kind of goodies do you enjoy? Sweets? Salty? Anything you hate or are allergic to? I have no allergies. I don’t really favor sweet candies, but I love chocolate and tea.

Do you have any kids? Pets? No kids or pets, though I do love dogs. I just have no room for one right now.

What is your favorite part of Winter? I love seeing the snow on the ground, and even like having to shovel the walkway and driveway. I volunteer for that job.

What is your least favorite part of Winter? Hmm, I don’t really dislike anything about winter. I am a true winter baby, born in February.

Leave a Reply

