Hemlock Ring

Well, I’ve finally made the blanket that has taken blogland by storm. 

hemlock ring 5

Pattern:  Hemlock Ring Blanket (with Modifications by Jared Flood)

Started: 16 March 2008

Finished & Blocked: 22 March 2008

Size: 52″ (I added one extra repeat)

Yarn:  Mary’s Little Lamb Light Worsted by Farmhouse Yarns in Gold

Needles: 6.0mm Knitpicks Options circulars, using the Magic Loop technique and Fleegle’s Circular Cast-On  (my favorite circular cast-on, since it’s easy)

Actually, this is my second attempt at this project.  When it was first released, I attempted to make it in some Beaverslide Fisherman’s Weight in the Oat color.  The color was perfect, but I really wasn’t feeling the yarn for this project.  It was quickly frogged and the yarn put away for another day. 

hemlock ring 4

This time, I chose a much more appropriate yarn.  It is sooo soft and wonderful to the touch.  Good thing, because I’m giving this blanket to my cousin as a wedding gift.  He and his bride will be getting married this coming Saturday, March 29.  I sure hope they like it.  I plan to add a “Return for Washing” label before gifting it, since I have a bad feeling about sticking this in the washer and dryer, even though you can do that with this yarn. 

hemlock ring 2

I’m very lucky to have a family that loves to get and give handmade gifts.  This is the second project that my mom has “commissioned” from me.  She paid for the yarn, I did the knitting.  The last time it was a baby quilt that came out wonderfully.  I’ll have to post a picture sometime.  She always lets me go for it, and I love that!  This time, she wasn’t sure about buying something off of the couple’s registry, since they only had small things listed.  They already own their home and don’t really need much.  Instead of just giving cash, she had me make this blanket for them. 

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Hemlock Ring

  1. Very pretty! Hemlock Ring is one of the patterns I’ve got on my To Knit list (then again, what free lace pattern isn’t on there by this point?), and I love seeing how they turned out for other people.

Leave a Reply

