Grannying Along

For the last six months or so, I’ve gotten more and more interested in the idea of doing crochet again.  I see so many cute bags and afghans on Ravelry, and I know how much faster this is for me than knitting.  I learned to crochet before I learned to knit, and I think that crochet is part of the reason why I prefer to knit in the continental style.  I hold the yarn in exactly the same manner. 

When I went to  Attic 24  and saw all the beautiful projects she has made in just the last year as a new crocheter, I finally caved.  I used her pattern for a bag to make something I love and put to use immediately after finishing.  I used an assortment of Takhi Cotton Classic that I ordered from Webs, intending to make a mitered square blanket.  They have instead become this project and I love it.

granny

(forgive the horrid photo, it’s from my phone)

Then just yesterday, I ran to Michael’s looking for a pom pom maker (more on this later) and got caught up in the books.  I was hooked (no pun intended) by the Vanna’s Choice Color It Beautiful Afghans book.  I happen to love the idea of acrylic for blankets, since it’s so easy to care for.  The colors of this yarn are beautiful and they really are so well coordinated.  Early this morning I started the Baby Blanket, and it’s working up quickly.  Definitely a weekend or one day project.  This is much easier to finish than the baby blanket I started for a co-worker in Plymouth Encore, and at $2.99 a ball, much cheaper.  I’m a believer.  So much so, that I’ve joined the Vanna’s Choice Fan Club on Ravelry and have signed up for the upcoming 12″ block exchange.  Now I’ve just got to swatch for my pattern.

Leave a Reply

