Move More, Eat Less 2010 #1: In the Beginning

Actually, the beginning was November 22, 2010.  Yep, I started a weight loss plan during Thanksgiving week.  Luckily for me, I was in charge of the food and my brother and sister are as uninterested in turkey as I am.  Instead, we had cornish hens.

I have been struggling with regular exercise since I left the military.  Army PT is not exactly exciting or conducive to one’s sleep, especially when done at 5:30 AM daily.  As soon as I was able to, I quit that absolutely boring stuff.  Besides being boring, I had sustained multiple exercise related injuries in the military.  These included having to spend 3 months on crutches because of bilateral stress fractures in my lower legs.  I hated it.

On the eating front, all of that exercise gave me the false impression that I could eat what I wanted.  I was like a college athlete who stops playing sports.  I gained 30 lbs in about 6 months and kept it there for a year.

This past November I started a new training program with Floyd Seymour, a former boxer.  He has a gym here in Maryland that specializes in weight loss using boxing methods.  Wow, what a difference!  It’s actually fun!  I don’t mind going there.  The music is always pumping and everybody’s happy to be working out.  I have managed to lose 15 lbs since the end of November and there’s no going back.*

The Lean Mean Sweater Queens(Ravelry) of 11 Sweaters in 2011(Ravelry) will be documenting their weight loss progress on a weekly basis. The idea is that if we lose weight we can fit into smaller sweaters that require less yarn and less knitting.  That’ll be the added bonus to this weight loss, anyway.

I plan to post pictures on a monthly basis and show you a few of the recipes that help me make it through this ongoing challenge.

*Positive thinking here.

Leave a Reply

